about Press Releases

WFFCU 2018 Scholarship Winners

July 05, 2018

Hamden - Congratulations to our 2018 Scholarship winners!

$6,000 in scholarships was awarded to five college bound students this month

This year the Dennis Banks Memorial Scholarship for $2,000 was awarded to Masia Della Valle, who will be attending Wake Forest University. The award is given in memory of Dennis Banks, the former President/CEO of Wepawaug-Flagg who passed away in 2007. The recipient must be majoring in business or education.

Our general scholarship award winners, who will each collect $1,000, were:

  • Quinnlan Burke who will attend Colby College.
  • Riley Powell who will attend the University of Connecticut.
  • Mary Naccarato who will attend King's College.
  • Jaycie Cooper who will attend Manhattan College.

Applicants for both scholarships were asked an essay question about their favorite quotation or if they would change anything in their life. Community service and involvement in their high schools were some of the governing factors in the selection process.

WFFCU appointed a scholarship committee who volunteered their time to go through all the applications and select the winners.

Scholarships were open to all high school seniors, who will be full-time; degree seeking students enrolled at a U.S. accredited college or university or a current college freshman, sophomore or junior. Applicants either had to be members of the credit union, or have at least one parent who is a member.

Thank you to all those who applied and thank you to our scholarship committee for their hard work and careful consideration of the applicants.

If you missed out on this year’s scholarship awards, you can always apply next year. Look for more details on www.wffcu.org starting March 2019.