about Press Releases

WFFCU 2015 Scholarship Winners

July 01, 2015

Hamden - Congratulations to our 2015 Scholarship winners!

$6,000 in scholarships was awarded to five college bound students this month

This year the Dennis Banks Memorial Scholarship for $2,000 was awarded to Rebecca Marks, who will be attending The Catholic University of America. The award is given in memory of Dennis Banks, the former President/CEO of Wepawaug-Flagg who passed away in 2007. The recipient must be majoring in business or education.

Our general scholarship award winners, who will each collect $1,000, were:

  • Jonathan Murray who will attend American International College.
  • Johnna Hayward who will attend American University.
  • Chloe Smith who will attend the New York University.
  • Alice Mathews who will attend the University of Vermont.

Applicants for both scholarships were asked an essay question about their choice of majors in college or who their role models are in their chosen field. Community service and involvement in their high schools were some of the governing factors in the selection process.

WFFCU appointed a scholarship committee who volunteered their time to go through all the applications and select the winners. One committee member said, “This year’s applicants were some of the best we have ever seen. Their essays were quite compelling.”

Scholarships were open to all high school seniors, who will be full-time; degree seeking students enrolled at a U.S. accredited college or university or a current college freshman, sophomore or junior. Applicants either had to be members of the credit union, or have at least one parent who is a member.

Thank you to all those who applied and thank you to our scholarship committee for their hard work and careful consideration of the applicants.

If you missed out on this year’s scholarship awards, you can always apply next year. Look for more details on www.wffcu.org starting March 2016.